Multi-platform & 2d OpenGL

roka-tarat
Unregistered

Hello,

I'm starting a new project (for windows), but I want to port it to MacOS and MacOS X (at least). What libraries do you recomend me? For graphics I'll use OpenGL and OpenAL for sound, but what about keyboard, mouse and joystick? The game will be developed with C/C++.

Another question: I'm a complete newbie with OpenGL... Do you know any 2D tutorial with OpenGL? I've investigated a little in nehe.gamedev.net, but I couldn't find anything about 2d programming... Sad All that I want to do is a tile-based "engine" (very simple, only the minimum for my game...)

Thanks a lot and sorry for my bad english,

Marc Casas
Quote this message in a reply
Quote:Originally posted by roka-tarat
Thanks a lot and sorry for my bad english,

your english is fine!

if its a 2D game then check out SDL - runs on Mac 9&X, Windows, and Linux. Handles graphics, input, sound and more.

hope this helps,
Codemattic
Ice Cream Joe
Unregistered

Quote:Do you know any 2D tutorial with OpenGL? I've investigated a little in nehe.gamedev.net, but I couldn't find anything about 2d programming...

You want to focus a lot on Nehe tutorial 6- texture mapping. If you want to make a tile, just make one polygon and map the tile to it as a texture. For basic tiling this is all you need.

If you want more good stuff for 2D graphics, focus on tutorials 9, 13, and 20.

You can use the info from Tutorial 9 to eliminate the background color from your textures, letting you make odd-shaped 2D graphics. Tutorial 20 builds on this and you can use this to make opaque objects, and 2D overlays (for a GUI perhaps)

Tutorial 13 is basic text drawing.

I'm no expert, and I'm still starting out myself, but this is basically exactly what I'm learning with too.

Let me add that SDL is wicked easy to learn, too. They even have an example that uses OpenGL, which you can copy-paste into PB and it just runs. (Provided you've installed SDL)

Good luck!
Joe
roka-tarat