Using Carbon API in Cocoa Apps

I'm pretty new to the whole Cocoa thing. I want to use Quickdraw in my Cocoa application. How do I do this? From what I've read, Quickdraw is the only graphics API on Mac OS X with decent speeds.
Quote this message in a reply
Link in the Carbon framework and call the Carbon functions. Carbon is fully-available to Cocoa apps.

Wade
That's it? Just link it? Man, and here I was thinking that I had to do some other special modification in Project Builder or something. Thanks!
jefftkd
Unregistered

If you want to use Interface Builder and Quickdraw, just use the NSQuickdrawView (icon like the Finder) control.

Just overwrite drawRect and do all your drawing in there. There is a nice method (qdPort) so you can do:

Code:
- (void)drawRect: (NSRect)rect {
    GrafPort *g = [self qdPort];

/* Use g just like normal */
}

HTH,
Jeff Cool
Ah, thank you thank you thank you! That's what I was looking for! I just didn't know how to word it.
Jeff Binder
Unregistered

Quote:Originally posted by geezusfreeek
From what I've read, Quickdraw is the only graphics API on Mac OS X with decent speeds.

Don't forget OpenGL :-) .
Oh ya. But I don't have any OpenGL experience anyway. I'll learn it eventually.
I just stumbled across some CoreGraphics stuff. How does this compare to QuickDraw and OpenGL, as far as speed goes? It looks easy. Is it related to Quartz in some way?
Luminary
CoreGraphics is Quartz.
Okay. There's the sign of a beginner for you. Wink
Isn't CoreGraphics a lower level API that Quartz is based on (Quartz calls CG functions)?

Chris Burkhardt
That's what I was thinking (and hoping).
Luminary
I imagine that the Cocoa drawing routines may well call the CoreGraphics functions, in which case calling the CG stuff directly may be slightly faster.

Anyone care to benchmark?
Feanor
Unregistered