Beginning development

Hawksun
Unregistered

Good day to the community!

I am a high school student and i would like to begin to develop games and maybe even work in this domain later.(yeah, we all have that dream i know.)

The fact is that i need to begin somewhere, so i would like to know what tools and tutorials i could use to begin simple game development.

Thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
Well if you want to program in 3-D and 2-D (which in my opinion is easier to learn and more useful for gaming) try OpenGL http://www.opengl.org & http://nehe.gamedev.net/ (NeHe) for some great tutorials. If you're programming in Mac OS X and you just want to use 2-D try Quartz. Quartzeroids is a good game with source code which you can find at http://www.versiontracker.com. The way I learned programming was going to my local book store and reading up on whatever programming language I wanted to learn. What OS are you going to be programming in?

Iceman
Pazolli
Unregistered

Don't forget The Inkubator Project and Hooptie (SourceForge/[url='http://64.246.17.165/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=17']forum[/url]). We aim to cater for beginners and if someone has an idea on how to improve our game, they're welcome to implement, asking us for any help they like. Joining is also simply a matter of saying "Hi" in our forums.

Enjoy.
Jeff Binder
Unregistered

OpenGL is not a programming language, and you're going to need to know a language in which to use it. So if you don't know any programming languages, you'll have to start by learning one.

If you've got absolutely no programming experience, try a simple language like Python. It's a very clean language, and mor well-suited to game development than most other similar languages. You can even use OpenGL with it.