Object Picking

I have gotten object picking to work in a GLUT app, but when I use the same method on an AGL app, it doesn't work. Anyone know why, or better yet, know of some AGL code that uses object picking?
Quote this message in a reply
swcrissman
Unregistered

If anyone can contribute an object picking tutorial, I could really use one too. Any takers? Smile

Spencer
kainsin
Unregistered

What type of object picking are you talking about? Using the mouse to select an object ( maybe via gluUnProject )? Or hitting a key and determining what the screen is "looking" at?
I am talking about using the selection buffer. For some reason, I NEVER get hits!
swcrissman
Unregistered

I was referring to the first kind you mention: User clicked at x, y on screen, or moved mouse to position x, y on screen, what object is the mouse 'over' in 3 space. That sort of deal.

Spencer
kainsin
Unregistered

Hmmm...I've never used the selection buffer before, and I must have skipped it whenever it came up when I was reading OpenGL stuff. It is in the regular gl library, I'm assuming?

As for mouse selection, you need to first find the point that the mouse is on in the 3D world. Think of the window as the near clipping plane, you know the distance of the near clipping plane and how big it is when you set up projection, so you should be able to determine where this plane exists in 3D space. You also know the position of the camera in the 3D world as well because you have to set this up in order to do projection at all. Find the point in the world that the mouse is at, maybe by taking the relative distance from the center of the screen and the position of the mouse, and then translating away the same relative distance in 3D space that the near clipping plane occupies. Now you have 2 points in 3D space and can use those to form a ray which you can project into your world. Just test all the objects to see if the ray intersects them and take the closest one.