Objective-C Function from C++

Nibbie
Hi.

I'm new to objective-c and I'm trying to Mix C++ with objective-c. So far i have managed to call c++ classes and functions from obj-c. But I'm having trouble with the opposite.

So I want to call a function named bar in a obj-c class named Animal. I can use the varable foo from Animal.

The error i get is
Quote:struct Animal' has no member named 'bar'

cpp.cpp
Code:
#include "cpp.h"
#include <stdio.h>
#include "Animal.h"

void cpp::bar(int newFoo){
    foo = newFoo;

Animal a = Animal();

printf("foo: %i\n", a.bar(50) );
}

Animal.h
Code:
@interface Animal {
@public
    int foo;
}

- (int) bar: (int) input1;

@end

Animal.mm
Code:
#import "Animal.h"

@implementation Animal

- (int) bar: (int) input1
{
    return input1*2;
}

@end

Any ideas what is wrong?
Quote this message in a reply
Well, to be short, everything in cpp.cpp.

1) It shouldn't be .cpp, it should be .mm
2) "Animal" is an ObjC class, and so it is used like an ObjC class, using C++ object syntax on ObjC objects won't work at all. Instead of a.bar(50), use [a bar: 50]
3) Where is foo being defined in cpp.cpp (or where ever)?
4) Again, Animal a = Animal(); won't work, ObjC objects are ObjC objects, C++ structures and classes are something else. Use Animal* a=[[Animal alloc] init];

ObjC++ does no more magic than what the two languages do already, ObjC is used as ObjC, C++ is used as C++, the two object systems are incompatible and calling with the other's syntax is impossible.

Edit: Also, if you're trying to access foo from an instance of Animal (a), you have to explicitly do a->foo.
(Jul 24, 2010 10:19 AM)Oddity007 Wrote:  Edit: Also, if you're trying to access foo from an instance of Animal (a), you have to explicitly do a->foo.