Getting the height, width, and origin of a view!

Hey all. I'm just starting out on the iPhone and I've got a flurry of questions that I'm sure have very easy answers. I've given it a shot, but it's time to ask:

Let's say "image" is an IBOutlet for a UIImageView. I'd like to get the width, height, and origin of the image. How is this done?

I tried image.width and image.height, but this doesn't work. I know that the width and height are stored within a CGSize and all that business, but I'm not sure how to extract that information. Same with the origin.

Thanks a ton!
Sam
Quote this message in a reply
How to Find This Out Yourself

1 - Read the developer documentation for UIImageView.
2 - The answer isn't in there, but it does say that UIImageView is a subclass of UIView.
3 - Look at the documentation for UIView which supports the following method:
Quote:bounds
The receiver’s bounds rectangle, which expresses its location and size in its own coordinate system.

@property(nonatomic) CGRect bounds
Discussion
The bounds rectangle determines the origin and scale in the view’s coordinate system within its frame rectangle. Setting this property changes the value of the frame property accordingly.

Changing the frame rectangle automatically redisplay the receiver without invoking the drawRect: method. If you want the drawRect: method invoked when the frame rectangle changes, set the contentMode property to UIViewContentModeRedraw.

Changes to this property can be animated. Use the beginAnimations:context: class method to begin and the commitAnimations class method to end an animation block.

The default bounds origin is (0,0) and the size is the same as the frame rectangle’s size.

Availability
Available in iPhone OS 2.0 and later.
See Also
@property frame
@property center
@property transform
Related Sample Code
avTouch
QuartzDemo
SpeakHere
TheElements
UICatalog
Declared In
UIView.h