File formats

Nibbie
Hi

im just starting out and i need some help. What are the general file formats that are used?

What file format is used for images? What file format is used for 3D meshes?
Quote this message in a reply
DDS is a Microsoftian format so it won't get you far on the Mac. PNG is pretty much standard, I think, although JPEG is good if you don't need transparency - I use a mixture of the two.
For 3D meshes, Wavefront OBJ format is fairly simple to load. If you need to include skeletons or some other sort of animation information you could look into ID Software's formats, since many of their engines are open source. Alternatively, you can create your own format. That lets you fine tune it to your requirements, but you'll have to write your own conversion code or even an editor. I'd look at writing a plugin for an existing modeller in that instance.
Nibbie
Hmm in a few days were gonna look up the animation part. Any recommendations?
(Aug 4, 2010 05:28 AM)qwsed Wrote:  Hmm in a few days were gonna look up the animation part. Any recommendations?
What kind of animation? Skin-and-bone animation of 3D models, like human figures? That's what backlash mentioned last in the previous post.
Apprentice
For images I would use DDS the tools on http://code.google.com/p/nvidia-texture-tools/ will help you compress images to them. DDS is also directly supported in most opengl implementations with GL_COMPRESSED_RGBA_S3TC_DXT5_EXT
(Oct 30, 2010 04:23 PM)narpas Wrote:  For images I would use DDS the tools on http://code.google.com/p/nvidia-texture-tools/ will help you compress images to them. DDS is also directly supported in most opengl implementations with GL_COMPRESSED_RGBA_S3TC_DXT5_EXT