Best Engine/Framework For iPhone Turn Based Strategy?

Apprentice
I am relatively new to programming games for the iPhone, but I'm a quick study! Rasp

I want to make a turn based strategy game where you trace out your moves before the round starts, and when you hit play you get to watch how your pawn interacts with the board and other pieces.

What would be the best and/or simplest game engine to do this on? Could Cocos2d handle it, or even iTorque 2D? I notice most of the games developed on those engines are action games.

If you guys get a chance, could you please point me in the right direction as I begin my great long journey? Thanks so very much!
Quote this message in a reply
If you're doing simple 2D, Cocos2d could more than handle it. I would suggest downloading cocos2d and the iPhone SDK and giving it a whirl. Once you've set that up, build the project and check out some of the test demos.

For this, I would pay special attention to the TMXTiledMap demos (at least I think of tiled maps when you talk about turn based strategy).

Asides from framework and engine, I would also suggest you draw out your ideas on to-scale iphone paper (notepod.net or your own drawn on notebook paper will work). I suggest this because when developing in the simulator, you often forget the actual size of this thing and how scrunched up a UI can get.
Sage
For a UI and text heavy game, I would seriously consider just using the normal iPhone UI elements. This makes it easy to lay out your UI, update text and respond to button presses. Just skin all your buttons and backgrounds with images. If you only have a few objects moving on the screen at once and no scrolling around, the hardware accelerated compositing will do a fine job of drawing everything.

Text rendering in Cocos2D is more performance oriented instead of easy to use. You'll end up laying everything out in code by typing in coordinates by hand. Similarly, handling touch events and such will be more difficult as well.