idea needed

Nibbie
Hello everybody,

My name is Daniele, from Italy (...so please, forgive me for my bad english...).
I'm a freelance developer with some experience in game/multimedia programming.

After several months of OpenGL study, I've switched to OpenGL ES and started programming on iPhone.

My background knowledge about programming the "little monster" is not complete, but so far, I've covered all the major aspects of game developement (loading images and models, game loop, ui inputs, collisions, etc...).
I prefer working in C++ than Objective-C and I found a way to use my C++ code inside iphone apps.

But now I'm stuck, my brain is full of programming knowledge, but I've lost any inspirations to develop an idea for a simple casual game...

I think that game design is an hard matter, more than coding, and for my past project I worked with people with a little knowledge of programming but a lot of ideas for games.

I know, this is an abstract thought, but any help to find ideas is appreciated.

Thanks,
d.
Quote this message in a reply
well, let's narrow it to a genre!

Adventure? RPG? FPS? Puzzle? Timewaster? BoardGame? Platformer? Text Adventure?
Nibbie
(Aug 19, 2010 08:48 AM)skyhawk Wrote:  well, let's narrow it to a genre!

Adventure? RPG? FPS? Puzzle? Timewaster? BoardGame? Platformer? Text Adventure?

Well, at the moment I think about two games.
The first is an adventure game, with action based only on acelerometer, with a funny little great white shark that have to eat fishes and avoid human traps (kinda ecological subject, as those sharks are about to extinguish).
The second is a networking game, a sort of Pokemon DS but with mechs (like heavy gears, mechwarrior, gundam, etc.) instead of pokemons, where you can exchange parts and fight with other network players.

Obviously the first one is the first I want to develope, as it is light years more easy than the second, but I'm not sure about the gameplay of both.