Chairs, ergonomics

I have nice carpeting/padding in my office, but yeah, we have mats in the shop on concrete. They definitely buy more time standing.

What happened to me before was that my knees and hips would wear out after a few hours, well before my feet got sore. The joints start adjusting after a couple of weeks though, so I could stand longer, the more I stayed with it.
Quote this message in a reply
Heh, I know what you mean. I used to work as a cashier at Circuit City; There was nowhere to sit down, which made the ten-hour shifts brutal for the first month or two, but eventually it got to the point where I didn't notice it too much.

I guess practice makes perfect, even when it's just practicing standing Smile

Worlds at War (Current Project) - http://www.awkward-games.com/forum/
I might be a rarity, but I sit on a yoga ball. Have done this for at least half a year by now. I am fairly active in my personal life, and haven't had much back trouble - however, I echo the comments that it is important to invest in something you want to sit on, since programmers should be concentrating on getting things done, not readjusting in their chair.

So that's one thing I've been struggling with... should I go back to a normal chair because the ball is fairly novelty? I think it has perhaps slightly strengthened my core muscles and back muscles, but my exercise has helped with that, too.

The ergonomics person at my corporate day job said yoga balls are for using with yoga, and not for sitting. I know some people swear by them... At my day job I have a good, fairly standard, adjustable office chair.

KB Productions, Car Care for iPhone/iPod Touch
@karlbecker_com
All too often, art is simply the loss of practicality.
I tried the yoga ball for sitting on before. It just took up a bit too much space and kept needing pumped up again.