If i use SDL...

Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: 2010.09
Post: #1
Will the players of my game have to install the SDL frameworks too?
If so, how am I going to do that when I'm distributing through Steam?
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,577
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #2
You can package any frameworks your game requires in the app bundle so the users don't need to install anything.
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: 2010.09
Post: #3
So they're automatically added to the compiled code? Nice!

Is this the same for the Windows version (I'm intending to port before release)?
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 3,577
Joined: 2003.06
Post: #4
Well, they're not automatically added per se. You have to create a copy files build phase, and binding for really old OS versions (if you're targeting that far back), which I can't recall exactly at the moment. It's not hard to do at all though. Search the forums for adding frameworks to the bundle.

I have no idea about the Windows version. I should probably learn though, since I am looking at developing cross-platform too.
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: 2010.09
Post: #5
Okay, thanks man.
I will only distribute through steam so it would be pointless to support lower than 10.5
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 373
Joined: 2006.08
Post: #6
I think you can use SDL as a .a or a .dll, if you want to, so you could probably either statically link it or just use the dll, on Windows Smile

Worlds at War (Current Project) - http://www.awkward-games.com/forum/
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 700
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #7
(Sep 25, 2010 05:05 PM)wyrmmage Wrote:  I think you can use SDL as a .a or a .dll, if you want to, so you could probably either statically link it or just use the dll, on Windows Smile

I'm pretty sure that - if you're not willing to release the source to your game or not willing to pay for a commercial license - you're required to dynamically link to SDL.

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 373
Joined: 2006.08
Post: #8
Ah, right, that's a very good point. I completely forgot about their licensing.

Worlds at War (Current Project) - http://www.awkward-games.com/forum/
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: 2010.09
Post: #9
Well, then my only option is to include the source.
Shame it has to come to that because of some stupid hippy license.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 700
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #10
(Sep 26, 2010 03:19 AM)Wolfos Wrote:  Well, then my only option is to include the source.
Shame it has to come to that because of some stupid hippy license.

Re-read what I wrote; you don't need to include the source if i) you dynamically link SDL, or ii) you pay for a commercial license (eg. if developing for iOS, which doesn't let you dynamically link SDL, or any other library.)

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Quote this message in a reply
Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: 2010.09
Post: #11
But dynamically linking SDL would require everyone to install it, correct?
Also, there is no commercial license for the current stable version of SDL and I wouldn't be able to afford it anyway.

Nah, I'm okay with going open source but I still want to sell it, so I'm not sure how I'm going to do that (without pirates downloading from my server instead of from torrents).
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 700
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #12
(Sep 26, 2010 04:33 AM)Wolfos Wrote:  But dynamically linking SDL would require everyone to install it, correct?

Nope, re-read what AnotherJake wrote Wink There's nothing to stop you dynamically linking to a library which is inside your game's .app bundle (on Mac OS X, anyway.)

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 373
Joined: 2006.08
Post: #13
(Sep 26, 2010 03:19 AM)Wolfos Wrote:  Shame it has to come to that because of some stupid hippy license.

You should choose your words more wisely; angering people is a pretty sure way to not receive help in the future.

As sealfin and AnotherJake said, you don't have to install dynamically linked libraries in order to use them; this is also true on Windows Smile

Worlds at War (Current Project) - http://www.awkward-games.com/forum/
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply