iPhone RPG - iMobsters like - How To?

sexyceops
Unregistered

Dear experienced developers,

I am in the middle of a challenging project to create a game like imobsters or mafia wars on iPhone and iPad, I would like to get all your valuable feedback on HOW TO create such a game, environment setup and tools needed other than Xcode, and any helpful references if possible.

Note: Forgive me if I have any silly questions here as I am totally new to game DEV. Anyways, I am not looking to clone iMobsters, am rather looking to create a small version of it for my project. I understand that it is a web based game, needs a database (what is the best DB to use with Apple), I hope I can do it with as much free tools available as possible.

Appreciating all you support and feedback.

Regards
Quote this message in a reply
Have you ever programmed before in your life?

I'm sorry but the "How do I create a game like <something>" threads (not just on this forum, but everywhere) are a growing trend that make me mad.

I'm more interested in how YOU think you create a game like that.

You say you need Xcode. Why do you need Xcode? Was it mandated somewhere that it all be done in Objective-C? Are other development environments such as GameSalad and Unity3D not plausible? I suggest taking a brief look at http://www.idevgames.com/forums/thread-8012.html

You say you it's a web based games thus needs a database. Why does it need a database? Does your particular version need a database? How large of one? Storing everything that everyone does ever into it? or storing basic data structures?

I don't think you've hashed out the basic requirements. Once you've done that, you'll realize what you'll need.
sexyceops
Unregistered

If you are mad about something keep it for yourself, this is a post that has request for assistance not for a mad person to respond to!? I am veer surprised that you are even a Super Mod!