Importance of memory management

I am preparing some lecture material for new learners of Objective-C and iPhone game programming. I am contemplating the issue of how much emphasis to give to the topic of memory management. My sense is that a beginner can get into a lot of trouble with it, and I wonder if memory leaks even matter in iPhone game programming.
As I am not a professional programmer, I am hoping some of you could share real-world anecdotes of memory leaks causing problems in a game.
Thanks.
Quote this message in a reply
DoG
Just based on that post, I suggest you don't try to create lecture material, as memory management is probably one of the most important things, especially on the iPhone. No offense, but it doesn't seem like you know the subject well enough to prepare anything useful to others, especially beginners.
Actually, it is because I do understand memory management that I am able to question the importance of teaching it to beginners. I am a professor, (not of computer science, though I do hold a degree in electrical engineering), so I know that a lot of what is included in the formal training of any subject is based more on tradition than any real practicality.
So, I don't think it unreasonable to wonder if memory leaks really matter in iPhone game programming and, if so, under what circumstances.
Sage
johncmurphy Wrote:Actually, it is because I do understand memory management that I am able to question the importance of teaching it to beginners. I am a professor, (not of computer science, though I do hold a degree in electrical engineering), so I know that a lot of what is included in the formal training of any subject is based more on tradition than any real practicality.
So, I don't think it unreasonable to wonder if memory leaks really matter in iPhone game programming and, if so, under what circumstances.