Hello World!

Yes, total newbage here. I have been going to school and programming here and there. I'm better at CSS/XHTML than game programming, but that isn't going to stop me...

I am running a g4ppc with 10.4.11 and Xcode2.5 so don't pick on me for having old junk! Wacko

Anyways, the question is where do I start with Xcode? Is it an IDE with C++ integrated? I just want to start simple, like everyone suggests, and make a 2d game with basic sprites and collision detection, maybe even audio! All in all, I noticed there isn't a lot out there for PPC chipsets and I want to expand that. My ultimate goal (I know, it's laughable), is a simple 2D open-source rpg. Its easier than you think if your standards are a lot lower (at least IMHO).

Suggestions will be worshiped!

Thanks for having me! Wow
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
I suggest a new(er) machine...
The PPC is dying, if not completely dead already.
The toolset available with newer mac / OS are too much to pass up to support an architecture less than single % user base uses.
There's little out there for PowerPC Macs as the last PowerPC Macs were built six years ago Wink

But if you're just interested in learning (and if you've already learnt C or any of its derivates) I'd suggest SDL as a starting point (and yes, Xcode is an IDE which calls command-line compilers eg. g++ for compiling C++)

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Thank you for your replies! I'm going to TRY and get a new computer...I know VB and enough of C++ to probably get things up and running.

I keep my desire to put some things on PPC because of games built with Xcode like Freeciv, a perfect example of Xcode's power in my mind....

Thanks again everyone! Already warm and shiny!
Nibbie
(Jun 20, 2011 01:54 PM)skyhawk Wrote:  The PPC is dying, if not completely dead already.

PowerPC itself isn't, but PowerPC Macs do.
PowerPC is still alive in actual consoles (Wii, Xbox 360, Playstation 3).