To STATIC or not to STATIC...

Hello.

I've got a question that's been bugging me for weeks, and I think I've now got to a point where I'm confusing myself more by self-investigation, than I would be by just asking the question aloud so here goes...

I'm a Uni student, who previously to my current project have worked on the MS Desktop platform using C++ / OpenGL (Desktop) and a little DX9.

This last year I've been on a Masters of Science course in Games Programming at one of the most recognised and reputed Universities in the UK for such a course and most of our grad's get jobs directly into the major games houses, both in the UK and abroad.

I'm saying all this, because I want to convey not only my experience, but of the high level of competency and quality of my lecturers and the course content.

For our first piece of assessed coursework (ACW) we had to code from the ground up a 3d racing game in the vein of scalextrix with a dynamic and user created track, multiple views, particles systems, reflections, shaders etc...in 12 weeks.

It was during this piece of ACW and my understanding of how to 'code correctly' that I bumped into the issue I'd like some help with.

In C++ I would use lots of instance (object) variables and have them initialized in the INITIALIZATION LIST in the constructor. As this is the quickest and most optimal way of doing things.

However, sometimes, when only a single method (that might be called repeatedly during each frame) would need a variable I declared that variable as a static variable LOCAL to that method.

When it came to marking my ACW, I was informed that that was an inefficient and slow way to do things, by the department head. And yet, I'd seen other students and graduates do the exact same thing. I thought it was good practice and efficient.

The reasons the lecturer gave to change my mind on this was as follows: