Decoupling rendering loop from simulation

Nibbie
I am totally new to Cocoa programming, so my understanding here might be completely wrong.

I have been looking at implementing a game-loop in Cocoa (OS X) with the following properties:
  1. The graphics are rendered (updated) at some fixed rate (i.e. 60Hz)
  2. The simulation (high frequency physics etc.) is run at some higher rate

I've come to the conclusion that for [1] I should be looking at a CVDisplayLink based system. Now, would I be able to achieve [2] by setting an additional NSTimer (in the main thread) in order to fire off game updates at an independent rate (provided of course that the two threads are appropriately synchronised and do not interfere with the same data at the same time, presumably the physics loop needs to account for waiting on a lock occasionally)? My logic is that the CVDisplayLink will allow the graphics to be rendered nearly independently of the simulation being carried out. If this is the case, is this a sensible design? How else could this be carried out?

Bonus Question: If I am rendering my scene in the CVDisplayLink callback function, I need not override/call drawRect, correct?

Thanks for any help!
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
I recommend avoiding CVDisplayLink. It doesn't work well in multimonitor situations.

You can easily spin off a second thread of your own to render in your GL context, or keep your GL on the main thread and use a second thread for the simulation.

If you're dealing with GL and threads, beware that each OpenGL context may only be used simultaneously by one thread, and it's up to you to manage whatever mutual exclusion scheme you use to achieve this. Also beware that NSOpenGLView calls CGLUpdateContext on the main thread when the window resizes. You can use CGLLockContext() to help manage the mutual exclusion if you like.
Nibbie