Switching To Mac

Alright, here goes nothing.

I'm new to the Mac scene. For the longest time (forever up until like, three days ago), I wouldn't touch an Apple product - just because it was Apple. I didn't really have a reason - I just refused to like it. Three days ago, however, I was looking up the latest news on Torque 3D (I'm a big GarageGames fan), and I was looking into its features, and I decided that my project (a role-playing game currently in hush-hush concept/design-phase) would do well to be cross-platform. Apple, I have to admit, even from a gamer's standpoint, is starting to take steps in the right direction, and is drawing in more developers within the past few years. Ran the idea through the skeleton of a team I have, and they're good with it.

So, after this decision, I realized that none of us have a Mac. Being that I'm deployed to Afghanistan right now, and I'm being paid tax-free (and all that extra combat pay), I could afford to buy a Mac when I return to the States later this year. And so I started looking through all of the fancy Apple stuff and noticed, aside from the fact that it still costs an arm and a leg, it really is better than I'd given it credit for.

Now, onto the subject of this topic.

I've been programming games as a hobby since I was twelve years old - that's eight and a half years, now. I'm used to Windows - it's what I've been on for those eight years as a programmer. I've programmed in a good number of languages, but the ones I still use regularly are C++ and C# (.NET was a good idea on the part of Microsoft) - with my libraries ranging from Irrlicht to DirectX and XNA. Point is, I'm not new to programming, and I pick things up fast.